Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics

Research Area I: Enabling Technologies

The Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST) has ceased operations in 2019.
Direct-write two-photon lithography (Nanoscribe PhotonicProfessional GT)
Reactive ion etching cluster (Oxford RIE Plasmalab System 100, ICP 380, Oxford RIBE Ionfab 300)
Electron-beam lithography (Vistec VB6 UHR-EWF)

The research work in Research Area I “Enabling Technologies” aims to provide the technological base for fabrication of nanophotonic and teratronic components.

RA I provides the technological base for fabrication of nanophotonic and teratronic components. This involves process development, structural characterization and realization of demonstrator systems. One of the main challenges is to develop processes which allow patterning structures with nanometer resolution and high reproducibility. Research in RA I aims at advancing lithographic technologies like electron-beam lithography, direct-write two-photon lithography, and X-ray lithography as well as dry etching methods, nano-imprint technologies and thin-film deposition.
Moreover, processes for polymer waveguide fabrication and photonic coupling structures are in the focus of RA I activities. With regard to industrial exploitation of teratronics, methods for up-scaling of laboratory processes to small-scale production are envisaged, e.g., in the field of direct-write two-photon lithography.

Activities in RA I are characterized by a strong interdisciplinary cooperation – it is the vivid exchange between technology-related activities, methodologies and applications that allows successful fabrication and functional demonstration of novel devices and structures. RA I can rely on cutting-edge cleanroom facilities and nanofabrication tools at the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT), the Institute of Nanotechnology (INT), and the Institute of Micro- und Nanoelectronic Systems (IMS). Moreover, RA I collaborates intensively with the Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) and with the Karlsruhe NanoMicro Facility (KNMF), an open-access high-tech platform that offers state-of-the-art micro- and nanotechnologies to users from industry and academia. This allows leveraging synergies in processing and characterization of functional nanostructures and devices.

Participating Institutes and Research Groups


Prof. Dr. Bryce Richards

Institute of Microstructure Technology


Prof. Dr. Thomas Schimmel

Institute of Applied Physics



Prof. Dr. Michael Siegel

Institute of Micro- and Nanoelectronic Systems


Prof. Dr. Mehdi Tahoori

Chair of Dependable Nano Computing


Prof. Dr. Martin Wegener

Institute of Applied Physics and Institute of Nanotechnology




Stefanie Peer PictureInternational Department, KIT
Your Contact

Stefanie Peer

+49 (0)721 608 47018

stefanie peer∂kit edu